3D Modeling a Skateboard Mold

Tips and info for board builders.
deepdish

3D Modeling a Skateboard Mold

Post by deepdish »

For the past month or so, I have been teaching myself 3D modeling in order to design my own skateboard molds.

I have no prior experience with any kind of modeling, but am gaining a more proficient understanding of the program.
As for program, I am running Rhino 3D - a solid 3D program primarily used for manufacturing.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to start a skateboard mold build from scratch.
From my baseline knowledge, I believe it will begin with a lot of control point curves, layers, lofting, and sweeping.
Once I have my desired specs, what is the best way to start?

Any information on this would be greatly appreciated.
I will post more updates as I progress - thanks in advance!
Beau

Re: 3D Modeling a Skateboard Mold

Post by Beau »

Nice! First, check out SK8CAD-MOLD: https://www.opensourceboards.com/CAD/SK8CAD-MOLD.html - this tool may be able to save you some time.

If you still would like to make the mold from scratch, Rhino is definitely good (I've used it in the past). I currently use Fusion 360, because it is free for hobbyists and small businesses, and has CAM built in. It works similarly to Rhino, and I break mold design down into a few basic steps:

1) Draw the concave on the front plane and extrude it the kick-to-kick distance, minus 2 x the transition distance (refer to the key in the SK8CAD-MOLD link I posted above for clarification on these terms).
2) Draw the kicktail from the side view, and position it so that the beginning of the kick is offset from the end of the concave by the transition distance. You can do one kick and mirror if they're symmetrical, or do both kicks independently if not. Extrude the kicks.